Gameplay FAQ

Generously maintained by any2cards

Have a gameplay question not covered in the FAQ? Click the button below to submit your question.

FAQ Last Updated: 05/17/2022 @ 8:20 AM PST

General Scenario Game Play

Q: What are the dimensions of The Crimson Scales game box?
A: Length: 19.75 inches
    Width: 12.25 inches
    Height: 4.625 inches


Q: What is the recommended way to begin a new Crimson Scales Campaign?

A: When beginning a new Crimson Scales campaign, you should approach it as if you just opened the box
    of Gloomhaven. You have not unlocked anything as of yet. You are now at Prosperity 1, with 0 Retired characters,
    using Gloomhaven rules for Prosperity and Perks.


Q: What components will we use from Gloomhaven when playing Crimson Scales?
A: You will utilize many of the components that come with Gloomhaven, including, but not limited to: board
    tiles,  tokens, items, battle goals, base modifier attack modifier decks (0, +1, -1, +2, -2, 2x, Null, Curses, Blesses),
    etc.  Note that Crimson Scales does come with its own monster and player base attack modifier decks for color
    consistency, but they are no different than those that come with Gloomhaven.


Q: If I wanted to play Gloomhaven characters in Crimson Scales, will I find them to be balanced and usable within
    the Crimson Scales campaign?

A: Playing Gloomhaven characters within Crimson Scales should be no more unbalanced/broken than using
    Gloomhaven characters in Gloomhaven.  So yes, they can be used within the Crimson Scales campaign.  In fact,
    City and Road events do reference those characters when appropriate.


Q: Can you play Crimson Scales campaign in Solo mode?  Are there any special rules for doing so?
A: Yes.  There are no special rules to do so.

Q: How does Retirement work in Crimson Scales?
A: It follows all of the normal processes that occurred in Gloomhaven.  You will have a Personal Quest, and once
    you 
complete that personal quest, you will retire, adhering to all of the steps and processes that occur in
    Gloomhaven.


Q: Are there still rolling (cumulative) retirement perks in Crimson Scales?
A: Yes.

Q: In the initial setup of the campaign, it states that you unlock envelope B (from Gloomhaven), but do not get its
    initial bonus.  Does this mean that when checking off Prosperity boxes, you are automatically awarded the first
    10 (which is what it takes to unlock envelope B)?

A: Yes.

Scenarios

Scenario 5: Blood of the Oozes
     Q. After opening door 1, the text reads "Whenever an elite Blood Ooze is killed, remove the water tile on any hex
         marked A and all connected water tiles. Water tiles can not be removed from the board by any other means.
         Once water tiles on C hexes marked with A have been removed, the infected water has been drained."
         a) I assume that only ONE tile marked A and its adjacent water tiles are removed (not all).
         b) If I am playing with 2 characters and kill one elite ooze, I remove three water tiles at minimum. Does this
             mean that I have "Drained the infected waters" or do I need to kill two elite oozes to take the "Remove water
             tiles" action twice to "drain the infected waters?
     
A: Each time you remove Water tiles, you remove one connected lump of water (the one marked with "a" and any
         adjacent tiles to the tile marked "a"). You need to kill one elite ooze per character.

Scenario 6: Poisoned Water     
     Q. It is missing from the Special Rules section, but I assume in order for a character to pick up a bottle of antidote
         they must be adjacent to it, correct? Can flying characters pick up a bottle of antidote and drop it into the
         fountain when on the hex with the respective obstacle, or is this not considered being adjacent to it?

     A: You must be adjacent to an antidote to be able to pick it up.  You must also be adjacent to the fountain to drop
          it off.  Flying over the obstacle in either case is not adjacent to it.


Scenario 7: Golden Eggs
     Q. Do monsters created by the water tiles get a turn their first round? Or do they wait until the next round?
     A: Since the monsters are summoned, they do not act until the next round.

Scenario 11: Voyage Abound
     Q. Do enemies spawn in hexes that normally have a character, but temporarily don't? E.g. A Starslinger's Lost in
         the Stars ability card has resulted in the Starslinger being removed from the board and it's character token
         placed
 in its stead.
     A: Yes.

     Q: Do summons know about attacking through obstacles for their AI?
     A: No.

     Q: Where are the enemies summoned?  It just says on each tile occupied with a character.  But in what hexes?
     A: Unspecified hex locations are player's choice.

     Q: What is the point of the last paragraph in the Special Rules which states "All characters start with Muddle as
         a scenario effect"? No monsters are on the map at the beginning of the scenario, and all spawned monsters do
         not
 get placed until the end of the round. It would seem that starting with Muddle is pointless.  Am I missing
         something?
     A: No. This was a mistake and is being added to the Errata document.

Scenario 27: Frostbite Cavern
     Q. According to the Special Rules in Section 29A, the Icebound teleports to "d" if it is on the a2b tile and teleports
         to "e" if it is on the a3a tile. But "d" is already on the a2b tile and "e" is already on the a3a tile. I assume the "d"
         and the "e" should be reversed, so that the Icebound teleports between tiles a2b and a3a?
     A: Correct.

Scenario 45: Defend The Swamp
     Q. According to the Special Rules in Section 50A, The Deep Terror represents the Land Leviathan. The Land
 
        Leviathan is 1 level greater than the scenario level and has a hit point value multiplied by (Cx2)-1, where H is
         equal to the hit point value of an elite Deep Terror.  There is no H in the equation.  Should it be (Hx2)-1 or
         Hx((Cx2)-1) or ?
     A: Hx((Cx2)-1)

Scenario Add-On RM2: Sinking Kingpin
     Q. Does the Inox Bloodguard have the same AOE on their attacks that an Inox Bodyguard has (they aren't specified
         within the Special Rules in Section 2 for Inox Bloodguard).

     A: No.  The Inox Bloodguard is actually a completely different monster (Boss) type, and has its own stat card. There
         is an error in that the icon shown within the scenario setup shows an Inox Bodyguard while using the name of
         the Inox Bloodguard.

Characters

Bombard_Character_Token.png

Bombard

General
     Q. Are the attacks from Bombard's Projectile mechanic considered ranged or melee? If the Bombard places a
         Projectile at range and then moves adjacent to it, is the attack at the start of the next turn considered ranged
         (with disadvantage) or melee (with no disadvantage). I always assumed it would be ranged (both because the
         ability specifies 'range' and because, thematically, interacting it with things like 'Piercing Bow' makes much
         more sense than melee items like 'Poison Dagger') but the question has been raised by others and the 'attack
         line' performed on the subsequent turn to the ranged projectile-placement, does lend itself to some ambiguity.

     A. The attacks are Ranged.


     Q. Can the Bombard's Projectiles target closed door hexes?
     A: No they cannot.

     Q. Do you have to be within range to perform a Projectile attack? Can the attack be done if you do not have line
         of sight? Example: I target a hex within range, then move away. Can I still perform the attack the next round?

     A. In order to initially place the Bombard's projectile token on a hex, you must both be within range and line of
         sight of the hex you are targeting.  At the start of the next turn, you only have to have line of sight to the hex
         which contains the Bombard's projectile token in order to make the attack.  While you do not have to be within
         any specific range, the attack is still considered a Range attack.

Brightspark_Character_Token.png

Brightspark

General
     Q. Does Brightspark's passive abilities like "at end of turn make an attack 2 range if you didn't attack" trigger on
         the turn you play them, assuming you didn't attack the turn you set it up?

     A: Yes.

Level 1 & X
     Q. Does Brightspark's Critical Observation apply its bonuses to additional targets if it has more targets via an
         item?

     A: Yes.

Chainguard_Token.png

Chainguard

Level 1 & X
     Q. Does the Chainguard's shackle modifiers from their perks apply soon enough to get bonuses like the +1 if target
         is shackled on Spiked Knuckles (attacking an initially unshackled enemy)?

     A: Effects from attack modifiers apply after the attack; so Shackle from an attack modifier applies after the
         attack is resolved, and therefore the bonus isn't applied (similar to poisoning an enemy with a rolling modifier).

 
     Q. If a boss/monster is immune to Immobilize, can it still be shacked for the purposes of attacking it with Ganging
         Up's bottom or getting other class bonuses like those provided by Locking Links?

     A: No.  A monster immune to Immobilize is immune to Shackle.
 
     Q. How does Locking Links work with items that give it extra targets like Battleaxe?
     A: You choose which target to Shackle.

Chieftain_Character_Token.png

Chieftain

General
     Q. If the Chieftain opens a door on the turn of her mounted summon, revealing enemies with quicker initiatives,
         who acts next in initiative order?
         a) The Chieftain, as summons always act 'immediately before the summoner'?
         b) The newly revealed enemies, as their quicker initiative would 'slot in' between the mounted summon's turn
             and the Chieftain's?
 
     A: B. The mounted summon's turn is separate from the Chieftain's.
 
     Q. If unmounted, the summon acts under normal summon rules, correct?
     A: Correct.
 
     Q. When the Chieftain is mounted and able to control the mount's abilities, can you also control ability order? Can
         I have the mount attack and then move before using the Chieftain's ability cards?

     A: In general, no.  You control the actions, but they still retain the ability order of Move, then Attack. The only
         exception is if an ability card specifically states that you can do so (e.g. the bottom of Level 4 War Paint).


     Q. Do AoE attacks damage/affect both the mounted Chieftain and their summon?
     A. Yes. This only applies to red AoE multi-target attacks/abilities.  Any single target attack/ability would apply to
         the summons first (as summons are focused first, unless this default order has been changed by some ability).

Hierophant_Character_Token.png

Hierophant

Level 1 & X
     Q. How does Infect interact with abilities which grant shield, such as the top of Faith Calling on the Hierophant? If
         a character with Infect is in range of this Shield effect when it is played, then removes the Infect condition later
         in the round, are they able to gain the effect of that Shield, or because they were Infected when the ability was
         played, they aren't able to regain the effect of that Shield?

     A: For all Shield aura effects, once Infect is removed they can begin using Shield again.  A character still has
         Shield while they have the Infect condition, it just has no effect.


     Q. How does the Hierophant's Faith Calling and/or Standing Ground work? The wording is like an aura in
         Gloomhaven (see Tinkerer's Flamethrower) where an ally can move in or out of the aura and gain/lose the
         benefit. However, this doesn't work with single target beneficiaries. What if one ally is in range of the ability at
         the time it is played (and they gain a Prayer) but another ally moves within range of it on their turn? Do they
         gain 'Shield 1'?

     A: The Prayer benefit applies immediately at the time of playing the card. Allies can then move into the aura later
         and benefit from the Shield effect.


    Q: The top of Faith Calling says "Shield 1. Affect all allies within Range 2. If you affect one ally with this action, give
        the ally one "Prayer" ability card. Is this suppose to be "If you affect exactly one ally" or "If you affect at least
        one ally"?
    A: The intent is "exactly one ally" at the time of playing the card. Therefore, additional allies may still gain the
        benefits of the Shield aura at any later point in the round.


    Q: The bottom of Sacred Death allows you to recover one lost card and two discarded cards.  In addition, you may
        immediately play the bottom action of one discarded card recovered this way.  After doing so, is the discarded
        considered played again, and thus discarded, or do you get to play the bottom action and still place it back into
        your hand?

    A: If you play the action of the recovered card, it is not returned to your hand, but instead goes to the appropriate
        pile (discard or lost) after being played.


Level 5
      Q. Can the Hierophant stock pile more than one token on Spiritual Gains in one rest cycle? The wording on the
         card is "Whenever you perform an action on an ability card that triggers the lost card icon", which implies you
         can, but the card also says "you may remove the token from this card" which is singular, suggesting you can only
         have one on it at a time.

     A: Yes.

Spirit_Caller_Character_Token.png

Spirit Caller

General

     Q. Can you choose the order of activation for the Spirit Caller's spawns?  For example, attack first, then move, or
         choose to move first and then attack?

     A: Yes.

Starslinger_Character_Token.png

Starslinger

Level 1 & X

     Q. Lost in The Stars refers to the round after it is played right? Basically making it invisibility except enemies can
         stand on you, your allies can't heal you and you always go last next round without needing to long rest?

     A: Yes, this is correct.

Attack Modifiers

Luminary_Character_Token.png

Luminary

     Q. For the Luminary's attack modifier card 133, do we need to consume an element to perform the Glow ability
         when this modifier card is drawn?

     A: No.

Starslinger_Character_Token.png

Starslinger

     Q. For the Starslinger's attack modifier cards 194 & 195, which read "Force the target to perform 'Move 1'", who
         controls the movement?  Does the character control the movement, or is it controlled by normal AI movement?
     
A. The player controls the movement.

Conditions

cs-infect.png

Infect

     Q. For the infect condition, if afflicted, do items such as Hide Armor still get used when damaged, if you are unable
         to gain shield? For Example: Imp 1 does 2 damage and afflicts Chainguard with Infect. After dealing 2 damage,
         one damage is nullified by the first charge of Hide Armor. Imp 2 does 2 damage, all damage affects chainguard
         due to Infect. Does the second charge of Hide Armor get used to no effect, as would be the case if the attack had
         Pierce 1?

     A: Correct.

     Q. How does Infect interact with abilities which grant shield? If a character with Infect is in range of this Shield
         effect when it is played, then removes the Infect condition later in the round, are they able to gain the effect of
         that Shield, or because they were Infected when the ability was played, they aren't able to regain the effect of
         that Shield?

     A: Once Infect is removed, they can begin using Shield again. A character still has Shield while they have the
         Infect condition, it just has no effect.

Items

Item 20 - Curious Pendant

     Q. Can this item be used to recover lost cards that are persistent and/or have charges similar to Gloomhaven's
         Spellweaver's Frost Armor?

     A: Yes.

     Q: Curious Pendant's wording would appear to allow Tinkerer-esque shenanigans as it simply says 'Recover one lost
         card played this round'. I assume that the intent is not to allow a player to pick up a loss card someone else had
         played earlier in initiative order?

     A: The Curious Pendant only allows the character that played the item to recover one of their lost cards played
         that round.

Monsters

Flaming Drake

     Q. On Flaming Drake ability card 210, initiative 56: It is not entirely clear from the card if the element
         consumption modifies the attack above or if it triggers a second attack. I think the former, but it would be great
         to clarify this.

     A: Flaming Drake ability card 210 does not trigger a second attack; it modifies the original attack.

Perks

Party Sheet

     Q. Goals: All party members spend 60 gold at the Item Shop each.  Does the initial 30 gold that each character is
         provided at the start of the Campaign count when spent at the Item Shop? Or does this require gold earned
         after the start of play?

     A: The initial 30 gold, if spent at the Item Shop, qualifies towards this Party Sheet Goal. Note that only gold SPENT
         counts.  For example, if your reputation allows for a decreased cost for a Shop Item, they only the actual gold
         spent counts towards this goal.


     Q. Goals: All party members loot 1 Treasure Tile in a Scenario each? Does this allow you to achieve this goal by
         looting across multiple scenarios, or do all characters have to loot a Treasure Tile in a single scenario (such as
         those scenarios that have Goal treasures)?

     A. This can be achieved across multiple scenarios.