Gameplay FAQ

Generously maintained by any2cards

Have a gameplay question not covered in the FAQ? Click the button below to submit your question.

FAQ Last Updated: 12/09/2022 @ 7:07 AM PST
Here is a PDF of this web page

The Crimson Scales: TTS vs Physical Assets
 
Some of the assets for the TTS version of The Crimson Scales do not match the physical assets for the game. Note that the physical assets are the most up to date versions for The Crimson Scales.  At some time in the future, it is the current intent to update TTS to the latest versions of all assets.

General Game Play

Q: What are the dimensions of The Crimson Scales game box?
A: Length: 19.75 inches
    Width: 12.25 inches
    Height: 4.625 inches

Q: What is the recommended way to begin a new Crimson Scales Campaign?
A: When beginning a new Crimson Scales campaign, you should approach it as if you just opened the box of Gloomhaven.
    You have not unlocked anything as of yet. You are now at Prosperity 1, with 0 Retired characters, using Gloomhaven
    rules for Prosperity and Perks.


Q: Is Crimson Scales intended to be played with the "updated Gloomhaven rules based on public Frosthaven rules list"?
    Specially referring to the point: "Summoned and spawned monsters now drop coins on death."? 

A: Crimson Scales was play tested and balanced around the original Gloomhaven rules.  Having said that, every party is
    welcome to decide what rules they want to play with that will maximize their enjoyment of the game.


Q: What components will we use from Gloomhaven when playing Crimson Scales?
A: You will utilize many of the components that come with Gloomhaven, including, but not limited to: board tiles,  tokens,
    items, battle goals, base modifier attack modifier decks (0, +1, -1, +2, -2, 2x, Null, Curses, Blesses), etc.  Note that
    Crimson Scales does come with its own monster and player base attack modifier decks for color consistency, but they
    are no different than those that come with Gloomhaven.


Q: Do we bring over the random item designs from Gloomhaven?
A: No.  Trail of Ashes will include its own Random Item designs.

Q: If I wanted to play Gloomhaven characters in Crimson Scales, will I find them to be balanced and usable within the
    Crimson Scales campaign?

A: Playing Gloomhaven characters within Crimson Scales should be no more unbalanced/broken than using Gloomhaven
    characters in Gloomhaven.  So yes, they can be used within the Crimson Scales campaign. In fact, City and Road events
    do reference those characters when appropriate.


Q: Can you play Crimson Scales with Jaws of the Lion?

A: Gloomhaven is required on order to play Crimson Scales (as you will use components from Gloomhaven), but you can
    use Jaws of the Lion classes in a Crimson Scales campaign.


Q: Can you play Crimson Scales campaign in Solo mode?  Are there any special rules for doing so?
A: Yes.  There are no special rules to do so.

Q: How does Retirement work in Crimson Scales?
A: It follows all of the normal processes that occurred in Gloomhaven.  You will have a Personal Quest, and once you
    complete that personal quest, you will retire, adhering to all of the steps and processes that occur in Gloomhaven.


Q: Are there still rolling (cumulative) retirement perks in Crimson Scales?
A: Yes.

Q: In the initial setup of the campaign, it states that you unlock envelope B (from Gloomhaven), but do not get its initial
    bonus.  Does this mean that when checking off Prosperity boxes, you are automatically awarded the first 10 (which is
    what it takes to unlock envelope B)?

A: Yes, but note that you still start the Crimson Scales campaign at Prosperity 1 (you do not receive the initial bonus
    Prosperity rewards).


Q: When will the page "thecrimsonscales.com/merchant" be available?
A: This page will become available shortly after general fulfillment of the printed game.

Q: When can enhancements to cards be performed in Crimson Scales? In Gloomhaven, this ability is unlocked at a certain
     scenario.  Is it the same for Crimson Scales?

A: Enhancing cards is unlocked at a certain point in the campaign.

Q: When playing Crimson Scales with less than 4 characters, after you choose one of the starting parties, do you simply
    choose which characters to play randomly from the party chosen?

A: Yes.

Q: When playing Crimson Scales with 2 characters, do you recommend playing with the house rule that "donations count
    double towards prosperity" rule.

A: We choose not to recommend house rules for Crimson Scales. Ultimately, you should decided what makes the game
    more enjoyable for your group.


Q: After choosing a starting group, are the events for all 4 of the classes added to the event decks, or only for the classes
    that are used to create characters (assuming there are fewer than 4 characters created)?. If you only add them when
    creating a character, does Crimson Scales follow that rule when classes are unlocked by personal quests too? Should
    other starting classes have their events added the first time it is created, assuming it was not created at the start?

A: Yes, they can be added immediately. Some groups, however, prefer to wait until the class enters the party before adding
    the unlock events.


Q: We are confused as to how the Merchant Guild gets unlocked.  We seemed to have missed something.

A: After completing your five scenarios successfully, you should read section 37D.  This is noted on both the Party Sheet,
    as well as within the manual at the bottom of page 12.


Q: When do Crimson Scales items get added to the game?  Do they get added in bunches like Gloomhaven (after prosperity
    increases), or only when you are told to do so?

A: Crimson Scale items do not get added in bunches via the prosperity system; they are unlocked and become available
    via multiple means throughout the campaign.  You will know when to do so, as the campaign will tell you to do so.

Scenarios:

Scenario 4: Infected Warriors
     Q: The Scenario Goals states the you have to cure four sick warriors. Sections 5A, 5B, and 5C state that the sick
         warriors are represented by scenario tokens with the Infect condition. We assume that when you "cure" the sick
         (infected) warriors, you remove the Infect condition token?

     A: Correct.

     Q: If the sick warriors receive the Infect condition again (after having been cured), are they considered to be re-
         infected, and do you have to cure them again?

     A: No.  While they can get the Infect condition placed on them again, this does not equate to being "infected" again
         (for scenario purposes). You only have to cure each individual sick warrior once (up to four sick
 warriors).

     Q: We assume that when the scenario token is replaced with City Archers or City Guards, they are spawned as
 
       normals for all player counts?
     A: Correct.

Scenario 5: Blood of the Oozes
     Q: After opening door 1, the text reads "Whenever an elite Blood Ooze is killed, remove the water tile on any hex
 
       marked A and all connected water tiles. Water tiles can not be removed from the board by any other means.  Once
         water tiles on C hexes marked with A have been removed, the infected water has been drained."

         a) I assume that only ONE tile marked A and its adjacent water tiles are removed (not all).
         b) If I am playing with 2 characters and kill one elite ooze, I remove three water tiles at minimum. Does this mean
             that I have "Drained the infected waters" or do I need to kill two elite oozes to take the "Remove water
 tiles"
             action twice to "drain the infected waters?

     A: Each time you remove Water tiles, you remove one connected lump of water (the one marked with "a" and any
         adjacent tiles to the tile marked "a"). You need to kill one elite ooze per character.

     Q: After opening door 1, the special rules read "At the end of every other round, spawn one Elite Blood Ooze ...".  When
         does this rule begin? Do we spawn a Blood Ooze at the end of the round when door 1 is opened and every
 round after
         that?

     A: It begins at the end of the next round, after the door is opened.

Scenario 6: Poisoned Water
     Q: It is missing from the Special Rules section, but I assume in order for a character to pick up a bottle of antidote
         they must be adjacent to it, correct? Can flying characters pick up a bottle of antidote and drop it into the
         fountain when on the hex with the respective obstacle, or is this not considered being adjacent to it?
     A: You must be adjacent to an antidote to be able to pick it up.  You must also be adjacent to the fountain to drop it
         off.  Flying over the obstacle in either case is not adjacent to it.


Scenario 7: Golden Eggs
     Q: Do monsters created by the water tiles get a turn their first round? Or do they wait until the next round?
     A: Since the monsters are summoned, they do not act until the next round.

Scenario 11: Voyage Abound
     Q: Do enemies spawn in hexes that normally have a character, but temporarily don't? E.g. A Galaxy's Lost in the Stars
         ability card has resulted in the Galaxy being removed from the board and it's character token
 placed in its stead.
     A: Yes.

     Q: Do summons know about attacking through obstacles for their AI?
     A: No.

     Q: Where are the enemies summoned?  It just says on each tile occupied with a character.  But in what hexes?
     A: Unspecified hex locations are player's choice.

     Q: What is the point of the last paragraph in the Special Rules which states "All characters start with Muddle as a
         scenario effect"? No monsters are on the map at the beginning of the scenario, and all spawned monsters do
 not get
         placed until the end of the round. It would seem that starting with Muddle is pointless.  Am I missing
 something?
     A: No. This was a mistake and is being added to the Errata document.

     Q: Sections 13B and 13C: Do monsters spawn at the end of the round or immediately (when previous enemies
        are
 killed)?
     A: Immediately.

Scenario 14: Cultist Cave
     Q: The scenario goal is to kill 3 cultists, but there are more than 3 on the map.  Is the scenario goal correct?
     A: Yes.  You only need to kill 3 cultists.

Scenario 24: Eerie Grotto
     Q: In Section 25A, the special rules states that assuming a character is not next to a hot coal they get a Chill token if
         they don't already have a Chill token. Page 5 of the rulebook for Chill states that "One Chill token is removed
 from a
         figure at the end of their next full turn." Does this mean that characters are effectively getting Chill tokens
 every
         other turn on K1b?

     A: No. The Special Rules take effect after all Chill tokens are removed.

Scenario 25: Brightspark, Behold!
     Q: There is an NPC called the Brightspark. No where in the rules does it say it is an ally to us and an enemy to
         monsters, but the way this scenario seems to have to work that seems to have to be the case. Can you confirm? In
         addition, no where does it say he is a figure. Can you confirm this as well (we were wondering if we could stand in his
         space).
     
A: It is a figure that is an ally to you and enemy to all monster types.

     Q: The Brightspark uses one of our attack modifier decks when attacking (our choice). Is this choice a one time thing
          at the start of the scenario, or can we be changing for every attack he makes based on the remaining cards for each
          of our attack modifier decks (in essence, choosing which deck to use based on what is best for us at any given
          moment)?
     
A: You can change it.

     Q: The Brightspark is allowed to consume an element to perform a Heal 2 Self. If there are multiple elements, can he
         consume multiple elements to perform multiple individual Heal 2 Selfs?
     
A: No.

Scenario 27: Frostbite Cavern
     Q: According to the Special Rules in Section 29A, the Icebound teleports to "d" if it is on the a2b tile and teleports to
         "e" if it is on the a3a tile. But "d" is already on the a2b tile and "e" is already on the a3a tile. I assume the "d"
 and the
         "e" should be reversed, so that the Icebound teleports between tiles a2b and a3a?

     A: Correct.

     Q: When standing on a door hex you are not considered to be inside any room (according to Gloomhaven FAQ), so does
         the boss not summon anything for special 1 when standing on a door hex?

     A: If occupying a door hex, consider it to be occupying the G2a tile for the purpose of summoning.

Scenario 31: Eternal Portals
     Q: Special Rules: Figures can only interact with other figures if they are on the same map tile. Do the Target's
    
     projectiles have any effect if the Target is on another tile at the start of their round?
     A: No.

     Q: Monster Spawns: Neither Rending nor Spitting Drakes spawn if C map tiles are occupied by characters at the end of
         the round, correct?

     A: Correct.

     Q: The special rules state that a character can spend one movement point while adjacent to a portal to Jump to a hex
         adjacent to a portal on a different map tile.  Can they jump to any other map tile with a portal, or only to
 the map
         tile connected to the same portal tile?

     A: Any map tile.

     Q: Section 33C special rules state that under a Boss Special 1, the Eternal Demon jumps to the map tile with the least
         number of characters on it.  Which hex does it land in?

     A. Player's choice.

     Q: Section 33C special rules state that under a Boss Special 1, the Eternal Demon jumps to the map tile with the least
         number of characters on it.  It then heals equal to the number of characters on different map tiles not occupied by
         the Earth Demon. All 3 characters were in a room together, and the Earth Demon moved to another tile. The Earth
         Demon heals 1 hit point because we were all in the same room, correct?

     A. Incorrect. In this case, the Eternal Demon would jump to that map tile occupied by the 3 characters and heal for 0,
         since the number of characters on different map tiles not occupied by the Eternal Demon is 0.


Scenario 32: Confronting The Past
     Q: In Section 35B, Special Rules, is the Artillery really suppose to do a Move 2 as part of its abilities?  Normally,
         Artillery never move.
     A: Yes. These are not typical Artillery as they are on wheels, and thus can move.

Scenario 35: Prison Riot
     Q: The Chainguard NPC acts on initiative 50, and draws from the monster attack modifier deck. Since we are playing
          with monsters that also have initiative 50, who will go first? The Chainguard NPC or the monsters? In other words is
          the Chainguard NPC consider a "character" and thus wins ties or not? He is our ally, but there is no text defining
          him as a figure, as a character, etc.
     
A: The Chainguard goes first.

Scenario 36: Hunters Bounty
     Q: Scenario 36 awards Treasure 02.  Is this suppose to be an Orb of Fortune (Item 09), like Treasure 09?
     A: No. Treasure 02 should be: Gain Hook Shot (Item 039).

Scenario 38: Altars of Confusion
     Q: In Section 3B, the special rules for the Altar of Perplexity state that all attacks performed while adjacent to the
         Altar of Perplexity gain Advantage.  Given the name of the altar, it would seem that it should be Disadvantage.  Are
         the rules correct?

     A: Yes, Advantage is correct as written.

Scenario 39: Festering Mire
     Q: After you read section 44B at end end of round 6, do you continue to spawn Ghost Vipers as you did in section 44A?
     A: Yes. They spawn forever.

Scenario 41: Curse of the Void
     Q: On scenario 41, once door #1 is opened and section 46A is read, the Rogue Hollowpact is listed as immune to only 4
         effects. When using the Gloomhaven Secretary, however, it lists him as immune to other things like poison and
         wound. Which is correct?

     A: The status effects listed in section 46A are correct.

Scenario 43: Mansion Maze
     Q: Special Rules: Any character may spend one movement point while adjacent to a boulder to push the boulder one
         hex. Boulders may be pushed into adjacent unoccupied hexes or one unoccupied hex away further from
 character
         performing the push." I assume that "adjacent unoccupied hex" relates to the position of the boulder
 not the position
         of the character pushing.

     A: Correct. To further clarify, this should have been written as follows: "Any character may spend one movement point
         to perform PUSH 1 or SWING 1 targeting a boulder."


     Q: Scenario 43 and Scenario 51 both reveal Treasure 41.  Is it suppose to be this way, or is this an error?
     A: Scenario 43 should be Treasure 41. Scenario 51 should be Treasure 50.
         Treasure 50: Gain "Bottled Moonlight" (Item 018)

Scenario 45: Defend The Swamp
     Q: According to the Special Rules in Section 50A, The Deep Terror represents the Land Leviathan. The Land Leviathan is
         1 level greater than the scenario level and has a hit point value multiplied by (Cx2)-1, where H is
 equal to the hit
         point value of an elite Deep Terror.  There is no H in the equation.  Should it be (Hx2)-1 or
 Hx((Cx2)-1) or ?
     A: Hx((Cx2)-1)

     Q: How should the Imps (both Black and Forest) be activated?  In other words, when both exist, which goes first?
     A: This is player's choice.  Once you choose which set of Imps are activated first, they should go first for the rest of the
         scenario.  For example, a single ability card is revealed for the Imps.  If you choose Black Imps, then all
 Black Imps
         should be activated and perform the ability card, and then all Forest Imps should be activated and
 perform the
         ability card.


     Q: In Section 50A, the Special Rules has a third paragraph concerning spawning a group of allies for the characters.  It
         isn't clear if this paragraph is a stand alone section, or if it is attached to the Special 2 of the
 Boss card drawn.
         Which is it?

     A: The spawning of one monster group on the A's is a stand alone paragraph and occurs only once, when setting up the
         tiles after door 1 is opened.


Scenario 51: Rodent Warehouse
     Q: Scenario 51 and Scenario 43 both reveal Treasure 41.  Is it suppose to be this way, or is this an error?
     A: Scenario 43 should be Treasure 41. Scenario 51 should be Treasure 50.
         Treasure 50: Gain "Bottled Moonlight" (Item 018)

     Q: There are 4 rooms. I'll call them 12 o'clock, 3 o'clock, 6 o'clock, and 9 o'clock. If our party travels counter clockwise
         through the rooms, going from 12 to 9 to 6, can they enter door #3 into room 3? The text in the map
 book doesn't
         read properly, since we didn't open door #2 in this situation. Technically, the room at 3 o'clock
 is only populated
         when you go through door #2, so what happens if you never open door #2?

     A: Yes they can. The room is populated upon entering. The scenario goal is met when all enemies are dead, not only
         revealed enemies, so all rooms must be entered.


Scenario 53: Cave of Currents
     Q: What type of monster is the Morphling considered to be before it draws its initiative card?
     A: At the start of every round, the Morphling is considered to be an Elite Water Spirit. Therefore, if you go before the
         Morphling's initiative (boss card), the Morphling is considered to be an Elite Water Spirit.  If you go after
 the
         Morphling's initiative (boss card), the Morphling is considered to have the attributes of what ever was
 drawn (Lurker
         / Spitting Drake).


     Q: If you draw a special 1 or 2 for the Morphling, when do you actually draw the Lurker or Spitting Drake card as
 
        specified within the special rules (Reversed Tide - Special 1 or Violent Sprout - Special 2).
     A: You do not draw the card in this case until the Morphling's initiative on their boss card. Therefore, until you reach
         the Morphling's boss initiative card in initiative order, you will not know what it will be doing.


     Q: The special rules within section 60A tells you to move all characters to hexes marked A.  Who decides which
 
        character goes on which hex A?
     A: Players choice.

     Q: If the character has a summons, where does it go?
     A: It gets moved to a space adjacent to the controlling character.

     Q: What happens to an NPC that you may have been rewarded due to a City or Road event?  Where does it go?
     A: If you are playing with less than 4 characters, place the NPC on one of the remaining hexes marked A. If you are
         playing with 4 characters, please the NPC adjacent to one of the characters, player's choice.


Scenario 55: Catacomb Plunder
     Q: Should the Living Bones that spawn from coffins be normal or elite? The scenario goal requires all enemies to be
         dead. Do the pillar objectives count as enemies for the purposes of the scenario goal?

     A: Living Bones are normal. The pillar objectives do not count as enemies for the purpose of the scenaio goal.

Scenarios 56-66: Solo Scenarios
     Q: I noticed scenarios 56-66 are solo scenarios after we hit level 5. Are we allowed to have our character automatically
         do that scenario whenever we want, or are there rules that come throughout the game to send us in
 that direction?
         Do we have to wait until the whole party is at level 5?

     A: You can perform solo/spotlight scenarios at any time as long as you meet the requirements. If the requirements
 
        only states that the class (of which the scenario is for) is Level 5, it does not mean the rest of the party needs to
         meet a level requirement.

Scenario Add-On AA1: The Riches of the Steelsilk
     Q: The scenario specifies the use of 2 stairs and 4 thorns. Since these are objects on opposite sides of the same
         overlay tile, it is not possible to place all of these objects.  What should we do?
     A: The stairs are required for the transition between the two K tiles.  Place those.  Place the two remaining thorns
         on the northern K tile, and place two lava tiles on the southern K tiles (the spaces with the A scenario tokens.

     Q: For the special rules for the Aegis, does this monster still draw an ability card like normal at the start of
         the round?
     A: Yes. It still draws a normal ability card, acts in initiative order, and for this ability card, operates in
         normal
 monster AI mode.  The special rules are just an additional Move 3 that the Aegis performs at the
         end of the
 round, with the players controlling its movement.

     Q: The special rules state that when the Aegis attacks, it may use any attack modifier deck the character's
         prefer. Does this include all active character attack modifier decks and the monster attack modifier
         deck?
     A: No. The Aegis can only draw from one of the active character attack modifier decks.

Scenario Add-On QA1: Capstone Test
     Q: The rules on page 15, under Mechano-Men specify that all enemies are immune to Poison and Wound. Does this rule
         apply only to the City Guards and City Archers specified within this section, or are all enemies throughout
 the entire
         scenario immune?

     A: All enemies throughout the entire scenario are immune to Poison and Wound.

     Q: The rules for the Translocator devices (the pressure plates) state that movement from non-adjacent hexes to a
 
        translocator pad is not allowed.  Does this basically mean that you can go from pressure plate A, B, or C to the
         matching A, B, or C location, but not back?  In other words, in order to return to the M1a tile you must use the D
         pressure plate, correct?

     A: Correct.

     Q: The rules for the Power Modulator state that during your turn, forego your bottom action to refresh the item.  This
         cannot be done in the same turn the item is used. Does this mean that you can only either refresh the item,
 or use
         the item on a given turn but not both?  Essentially resulting in only being able to use the item every other
 turn, and
         only once on that turn?

     A: Correct.  You can either refresh the item or use the item on any given turn. Not both.

     Q: The City Guards and City Archers are named Clockwork Soldiers and Clockwork Railcasters.  It can't be the intention
         of this scenario that they count towards the goal of one, two, or three named enemies you need to kill,
 correct?
         Otherwise, you would never have to leave the M1a tile.

     A: Correct.  The only named enemies that count are the Clockwork Ravager, the Clockwork Bombard, and the
         
Clockwork Guardian.

     Q: If your character has the ability to Teleport, can they do so between tiles without the use of the Translocator
         Devices?  Is there a defined distance between them that would make this possible?
     A: No and no.

Scenario Add-On RM2: Sinking Kingpin
     Q: Does the Inox Bloodguard have the same AOE on their attacks that an Inox Bodyguard has (they aren't specified
         within the Special Rules in Section 2 for Inox Bloodguard).
     A: No.  The Inox Bloodguard is actually a completely different monster (Boss) type, and has its own stat card. There is
         an error in that the icon shown within the scenario setup shows an Inox Bodyguard while using the
 name of the Inox
         Bloodguard.


     Q: Can Goremyon Shatter-Mind use Special 2 Hostile Takeover to mind control an invisible character?
     A: Yes.  The mind controlled character, however, cannot be forced to attack an invisible ally.

Scenario Add-On RM4: Terrorscale Lair
     Q: In Section 3, Boss Special 1 provides the Terrorscale Drake an attack at exactly Range 4 or Range 5. Does that
         mean it tries to move back to range 4-5 of its focus if it's already closer than that?
     A: The Terrorscale Drake will move back to get into exactly Range 4 or 5 using the minimal amount of movement.

     Q: What happens if the Bleeding Claw reduces the Terrorscale Drake to precisely 2 HP using the loss top of Feast of
         Flesh? (she's never reduced to 1 hit point).

     A: Any time a kill effect would trigger on a Boss that cannot be reduced below 1 hit point, reduce it to 1 hit point
         instead.

Solo Scenarios:

*** Skull ***: Scenario 65: Beyond the Grave
     Q: Normally, enemies cannot target Spirits. "They cannot be focused on or targeted by any abilities," etc... This scenario
         makes it clear that Spirits can target enemy Spirits. But it's still not clear whether they are susceptible to Poison,
         Wound, etc. inflicted by other spirits. Can spirits move through enemy spirits? The Haunted Ghoul spirit appears to
         have no movement, and no healing (if all Shamen have been removed). I guess you can just have a Spirit inflict
         Wound, then walk away and leave her.
     A: Yes, the enemy spirits can be affected by conditions. The spirits can be moved through.


*** Target ***: Scenario 56: Disarm the Machine
     Q: Can a Target, with the Translocation Device (Item 27), swap positions with an enemy outside of the ring of
         walls/boulders?

     A: No.  You cannot relocate any of the enemies, and the Target cannot go outside of the walls/boulders.

     Q: If you cannot relocate any of the enemies, are they immune to forced movement such as push/pulls?
     A: No.  Unless stated otherwise, you can push/pull enemies.

     Q: Can a Target, with the Spider Climb Gloves (Item QA03), go onto the walls/boulders as long as he does not go
         outside of them?

     A: Yes.


*** Tools ***: Magnum Opus
     Q: It specifies that doors 2, 3, and 4 are locked and open with the corresponding character count. If I play the scenario
         truly solo, I assume those doors never open, and I never need to worry about what is in there, correct?
     A: Correct.

     Q: If the character count is more than 1, I assume the scenario starts with those doors unlocked AND opened, correct?
     A: Correct.

     Q: On the initial page of instructions, especially when it talks about the Stone Golem (Magnum Opus), it never
         describes
 it as an ally to me. So at this point, I don't believe I can heal it, even though enemies can target it. Is this
         correct? In
 addition, at this point, I don't believe it can do anything such as move, etc. Correct? Can I force it to
         move? Can I pull
 or push it? I would assume no as it is surrounded by the same border that all of the other
         "objectives" are.

     A: It is an objective at this point in the scenario. You can’t heal it and it is immune to all conditions.

     Q: At the start of round 5, I read section 1. More enemies are spawned, but there are no new rules for the Magnum
         Opus, so I assume all rules from the initial page of instructions still apply, correct?
     A: Correct.

     Q: At the start of round 9, I read section 2. The Magnum Opus has now become a summoned owned by me. At this
         point,
 I would assume that I can now heal it. But I further assume that since it is a summons, it will operate by
         monster AI.
 Given this, if there are still objectives alive that have an initiative of 50, and if they are the closest
         thing, I assume
 the Magnum Opus will focus on these instead of say any other monster or even the Clockwork
         Devastator (Lurker)?

     A: The Magnum Opus is now your summon, so yes, you can heal it. It does follow monster AI rules. It will only focus on
         enemies. You have no relationship to the other objectives in the room. They are neither your allies nor your enemies.
         The Magnum Opus will only focus its enemies.

     Q: The ability cards that I play for the Magnum Opus, are these drawn randomly, or can I actually choose one available
         to play (say the one that best suits the situation)?
     A: You choose the ability cards the Magnum Opus uses each turn.

     Q: Section 3 specifies that the Clockwork Devastator will get two turns. I assume it uses the initiative of both cards to
         determine the order, so that it may go, then several other things may go, and then it may go again. Correct?
     A: Correct.

     Q: My Tools character did this solo scenario with my 4 player party. For the last round, I was exhausted, but other
         characters were still alive, so I played ability cards for my Magnum Opus. Was this allowed?

     A: No.  The Special Rules "Your Greatest Creation" clearly specifies that the Magnum Opus is considered to be a
         summon owned by Tools ...", and as such follows all normal summons rules. Further, this Special Rule goes on to
         explain how the Magnum Opus turns are decided, "... at the beginning of each round the Tools plays one card from
         the Magnum Opus ability deck." If the Tools is exhausted, that player may no longer play cards, including abilities
         for their Magnum Opus.

Characters

*** Beetle ***

General
     Q: Could you please clarify how Colony tokens move? There is a difference between rules on the character mat and
         rules in the Add-on Scenario Book. Character Mat: Colony tokens cannot move through or end in walls or hexes
         with other Colony tokens, but otherwise can end movement in any empty hex. If a Colony token is moved through an
         occupied hex, destroy the token (an occupied hex = a hex with a figure). Add-on Scenario Book: A
 Colony token
         cannot move into hexes with figures, overlay tiles, or other Colony tokens. So can Colony tokens
  move through walls,
         hexes with figures, overlay tiles?

     A: No.

     Q: Is a hex with a Colony token considered empty for purposes of spawning and summoning? Character Mat: A hex
         with a Colony token is considered empty for movement. Add-on Scenario Book: If any figure spawns, or is summoned
         into a hex containing a Colony token...

     A: Yes, spaces with Colony tokens are considered empty for Spawns/Summons. But if a Spawn/Summons occurs
         within a space that contains a Colony token, the Colony token is destroyed.

     Q: Can characters create overlay tiles on hexes with Colony tokens? Add-on Scenario Book: If any overlay tile is
         created in a hex containing a Colony Token, destroy that token...
     A: Yes. If an overlay tile is created within a space that contains a Colony token, the Colony token is destroyed.

     Q: Are the colony-related cards still active when all my colony tokens of the related type(s) are destroyed? If I play a
         new colony of the same type with a different card, and the previous card stayed in play, does the colony get the
         benefit of both cards?

     A: Yes and Yes.  Per the rules, colony tokens are permanent. As long as the ability card(s) are in your active area, your
         colony tokens gain the affects of those cards. 


     Q: For the Beetle I'm unclear if the colony cards need to stay in the active area when played, because the perk allows
         any colony to be deployed without a card played in the active area. Also, if it is required to be kept in the active area,
         does it stay there as long as the colony exists? Because it seems that in some cases the card would stay
         permanently. If I choose to discard that card from play area, are the colony tokens removed?

     A: A Cultivate action is made of two abilities, separated by an ability divider. The first ability allows you to create a
         colony token. This is a static one-time effect. Once the ability is performed there's no more tracking to be done. This
         is also true of other effects that create colonies, such as attack modifiers. The second ability of a Cultivate action
         has a persistent effect that grants the specified colony type a bonus. This is denoted with a persistent icon,
         indicating that for this effect to be active the ability card must be in your active area. The rules define explicitly all
         the ways colonies can be destroyed or removed. When an ability card is removed from your active area you don't have
         to remove colony tokens.

 
     Q: Does everyone, including the Beetle itself, need to be adjacent to a colony to gain benefit from it? I get confused
         because the rulebook implies that the Beetle gains all the benefits all the time but the cards don't say so. Also does
         the effect of one Cultivate card stack when adjacent to multiple colony tokens?
     A: The rule and scenario book do not explain how benefits from colonies are gained, only the ability cards do this. It's
         neither implied or explicitly stated that the Beetle follows different rules to gain benefits from its colonies. Cultivate
         effects that grant a bonus to colony tokens are written in the same format. "You and all allies gain X while
        adjacent..." means that the Beetle and any of its allies must be adjacent to a colony token to gain X bonus. Cultivate
         bonuses do not stack. "... at least one..." means that you must be adjacent to at least one colony token to gain the
         listed bonus. If you are adjacent to 2 colonies, this satisfies the "at least one" requirement, and you gain the bonus,
         once.


Level 7
     Q: Has Stalk The Prey been modified?  It seems over powered (especially the bottom)?
     A: Yes.  Here is the new version of Stalk The Prey.


*** Chained Helmet ***

General
     Q: Is the Shackle ability optional? For example, if you have enemy A shackled and you are attacking enemy B and you
         draw an attack modifier card that has the Shackle symbol, are you required to shackle enemy B?
     A. Shackle is optional.

     Q: How does Shackle work for monster attacks? If a monster had focused on another character, moved towards that
         character, and then got stuck part way through the move due to Shackle, does it forfeit its attack because it
         couldn't reach its original target, or does it attack the Chained Helmet because it's the best it can do?
     A: If the focus was on a different character, it does not change its focus to the Chained Helmet, and in this case would
         forfeit its attack.

     Q: The Chained Helmet has 4 round markers with trap symbols. What do all four images refer to? And is the Chained
         Helmet limited to 4 total traps on the map at the same time? Or can you use other traps (with different symbols) to
         represent additional traps when you run out of the 4 provided with the Chained Helmet?
     A: The four traps included with Crimson Scales for the Chained Helmet are just additional traps with different art work
         so that they are easily identifiable as traps belonging to the Chained Helmet. There is no limitation to the traps, and
         they are interchangeable with any other traps in the game.


     Q: How do the ranged Swing abilities work? For example a range 2 Swing ability? Does the target have to be exactly at
         range 2 or is it also fine if it's within range 2 i.e. adjacent to the Chained Helmet?

     A: Within Range 2.


     Q: If I Swing a flying enemy into a Trap, do they suffer trap damage? There is no exception for flying monsters in the
         description of the Swing ability, so I wasn't sure which rule took precedence?

     A: Enemies that have the Flying ability do not trigger traps upon being Swung into them.

Level 1 & X
     Q: Does the Chained Helmet's shackle modifiers from their perks apply soon enough to get bonuses like the +1 if
         
target is shackled on Spiked Knuckles (attacking an initially unshackled enemy)?
     A: Effects from attack modifiers apply after the attack; so Shackle from an attack modifier applies after the attack is
         resolved, and therefore the bonus isn't applied (similar to poisoning an enemy with a rolling modifier).


     Q: For Chained Helmet's top ability on Locking Links, does the card ever get discarded? Or it is simply when you choose
         to move it to your discard pile? It seems to indicate that only the target of the action will take damage
 on their turn.
         So if the Shackled target dies, the target is no longer there to take the damage and I assume that
 the damage will
         not apply to future Shackled enemies because they weren't the target. I know that cards can be
 moved to your
         discard when you want, so I assume that I could move it to my discard on my turn after the target
 has died. However,
         can I leave that card out there? Could it stay in an active area, doing nothing? It could help
 meet certain battle goals
         to not have it in my discard or hand.

     A: You may choose when to discard it.

     Q: If a boss/monster is immune to Immobilize, can it still be shacked for the purposes of attacking it with Ganging Up's
         bottom or getting other class bonuses like those provided by Locking Links?

     A: No.  A monster immune to Immobilize is immune to Shackle.

     Q: How does Locking Links work with items that give it extra targets like Battleaxe?
     A: You choose which target to Shackle.

Level 8
     Q: For the top of Pivot and Smash, can you use an item such as Long Spear on this attack to hit other enemies since
         only one target in the AOE was targeted by the swing?

     A: No. You cannot use items on these type of abilities that have specific targets.

     Q: For the top of Pivot and Smash, if an enemy is immune to forced movement can they also not be hit by the attack
         in this action?

     A: Yes. Even if you weren't able to perform the Swing, you still targeted the enemy.


*** Crescent Sun ***

General
     Q: Can you use the "Scuttle" move ability of a card without actually making the AOE attack depicted?
     A: No.  You must target at least one enemy with an attack in order to be able to Scuttle.

     Q: Can you activate a Glow ability in the middle of a Move action?
     A: Yes.

Level 1 & X
     Q: The top of Trickling Sting only requires that elements exist (not that they are spent) to buff the attack.  Can I
         create elements with say a bottom move that I then use to buff the attack of Trickling Sting?
     A: No.  Remember that a fundamental rule of Gloomhaven is that elements are not infused until the end of your turn.
         So you can never infuse a new element on your turn and consume (or otherwise use it) on that same turn
 as it will
         not exist until the end of your turn.


Level 5
     Q: For the top of Colorful Wavelengths, when consuming Fire, can you scuttle into the black hex after performing the
         attack?

     A: No.

Level 8
     Q: In the Attack Modifier section of this FAQ, it was ruled that card 133 allows you to activate a Glow ability without
         consuming an element.  How does this interact with Dominating Illumination?  Does the attack
 modifier card let you
         do the whole Glow ability even though it requires two element consumptions, or can you
 only do one of the abilities
         (i.e. either Add +1 Attack to all your attacks this round -OR- Bless Self)?

     A: You can only perform one of the abilities without consuming an element.


*** Flask ***

General
     Q: Does Flask's passive abilities like "at end of turn make an attack 2 range if you didn't attack" trigger on the turn you
         play them, assuming you didn't attack the turn you set it up?

     A: Yes.

Level 1 & X
     Q: Does Flask's Critical Observation apply its bonuses to additional targets if it has more targets via an item?
     A: Yes.

     Q: For the top of Leftover Tonic, if the Flask does not attack on a turn or has no target to attack on a turn, does the
         character token move along the track?

     A: Yes.

     Q: For the bottom of Leftover Tonic, would you Loot before or after the Move 2 is triggered?
     A: After.

     Q: Does the bottom of Preliminary Research only refresh spent items (like a long rest), or spent / consumed items
         (like other refresh an item cards)?
     A: As it specifically states "Refresh one spent item", it only works on spent items.

Level 3
     Q: For the bottom of Weather Forecast, is the first element generated on the turn the card is played?
     A: Yes.

Level 6
     Q: When you consume the two elements on the bottom of Flask's Antibiotic Boost to perform all three abilities at the
         end of your current turn, does it also use up all 3 slots at once, immediately making you
 discard the card, or do you
         actually still only use one slot?

     A: It uses all 3 slots immediately and the card goes to the discard pile.

Level 7
     Q: For the bottom of Astronomical Strike, is the INVISIBLE considered to be INVISIBLE Self?
     A: Yes, the summon Black Hole has permanent INVISIBLE.


*** Galaxy ***

General
     Q: Do heals from yellow ally hexes take affect before or after the attack associated with the heal?
     A: After.


Level 1 & X
     Q: Lost in The Stars refers to the round after it is played right? Basically making it invisibility except enemies can
         stand on you, your allies can't heal you and you always go last next round without needing to long rest?
     A: Yes, this is correct.

     Q: For the top of Gravitational Flip, do we push enemies adjacent to one hex looted or enemies adjacent to every hex
         looted?

     A: You push enemies adjacent to every hex looted.

     Q: For the bottom of Light Pollution, are allies in yellow hexes considered “targeted” and therefore included in the “+X”
         to the move for Light Pollution?

     A: Yes.


*** Ladder Axe ***

General
     Q: Can I retrieve the ladder during movement when the adjacent hex is occupied by an ally and I would need to move
         through them?

     A: You can retrieve the ladder while moving, as long as you are adjacent to it, even while moving through an ally, so
         long as their is no figure currently on the ladder (i.e. the space the ladder is currently in must be
         
unoccupied.

     Q: I am standing on the Ladder Axe's ladder and the ladder is in a water hex.  If an enemy causes all characters in a
         water hex to suffer damage, do I suffer damage?

     A: Yes.  Even though you are on your ladder, you still occupy a water hex.

     Q: What type of obstacles can you place the ladder on?
     A: Any obstacle that isn't an objective, doesn't have hit points, or can't be destroyed.

Level M
     Q: For the bottom of Improvised Methods, how does adding range 3 work on melee AoE attacks, melee "Target all
         enemies within x hexes" attacks, and "Target all in same room" attacks, etc.?
     A: This only applies to single target melee attacks.

     Q: For the bottom of Improvised Methods, the card reads "you may place your ladder within two hexes".  I'm assuming
         this placement still needs to follow the usual rules where you may place your ladder?

     A: Correct.  Only the adjacency rule is overruled for the round.


Level 1 & X
     Q: For the top of Fiery Charisma, can you perform 2 of the 3 abilities in any order, or do the lower 2 require you to
         first make an attack?
     A: You may perform 2 of the 3 abilities in any order.


     Q: For the top of Light Irons, can you confirm that the two abilities listed (Attack, Strengthen) are separate, and can be
         performed independent of each other?

     A: Yes.  You may strength any allies within the AoE without making the attack.

Level 4
     Q: For the top of Jack of All Trades, are you required to be on your ladder to perform the heal and the attack or just the
         heal?

     A: Just the heal.

Level 9
     Q: For the bottom of Incident Commander, does the add +2 Attack apply to the ally's next entire attack action or only
         the next single attack ability?
     A: It applies to the first single attack the ally makes.



*** Leaf ***

General
     Q: Are Prayers which have been handed out to allies immediately lost if the Leaf exhausts or dies?
     A: No.  They are not automatically removed from other characters' hands.

     Q: Can Prayer cards be Lost to avoid damage? If so, where do they go, the Leaf's Loss Pile, the Ally's Loss Pile, the Leaf's
         supply? Any special handling for Lamentation?
     A: No.  Note that this is specifically stated on the character mat, with the exception of Lamentation, since that card also
         specifically states that it can be Lost.


Level P
     Q: The Prayer card Lamentation states that if the card is discarded for any reason, it goes back to the Leaf's supply.
         At the same time, it displays the permanently Lost symbol in the bottom of the right hand corner of the card.
         Which process is correct?
     A: It is lost and cannot be recovered for the duration of the scenario.

     Q: The Prayer card Penitence's top changes any attack modifier card the character draws from a negative to a +0
         instead.  If the negative card would also grant some other effect (e.g. -1, create element), do I still gain the other
         affect when the modifier turns into a +0 instead?
     A: Yes.

     Q: For the purposes of the Prayer card Penitence, are null/curses considered to be negative attack modifiers? Are
         x2/blesses considered to be positive attack modifiers?
     A: No.  Null/Curses are not negative and X2/Blesses are not positive.

     Q: I would like a clarification for the Prayer card Meditation: Does the player receive the invisibility condition the
         moment they declare a long rest, rendering them invisible for that entire round, or do they receive the condition
         after they perform the long rest, rendering them invisible for the next round instead?
     A: They gain invisible at the beginning of the round in which they are long resting, and therefore lose invisible after
         their long rest at initiative 99.

Level 1 & X
     Q: How does Infect interact with abilities which grant shield, such as the top of Faith Calling on the Leaf? If a character
         with Infect is in range of this Shield effect when it is played, then removes the Infect condition later
 in the round, are
         they able to gain the effect of that Shield, or because they were Infected when the ability was
 played, they aren't able
         to regain the effect of that Shield?

     A: For all Shield aura effects, once Infect is removed they can begin using Shield again.  A character still has Shield
         while they have the Infect condition, it just has no effect.


     Q: How does the Leaf's Faith Calling and/or Standing Ground work? The wording is like an aura in Gloomhaven (see
         Tinkerer's Flamethrower) where an ally can move in or out of the aura and gain/lose the
 benefit. However, this
         doesn't work with single target beneficiaries. What if one ally is in range of the ability at
 the time it is played (and
         they gain a Prayer) but another ally moves within range of it on their turn? Do they
 gain 'Shield 1'?
     A: The Prayer benefit applies immediately at the time of playing the card. Allies can then move into the aura later and
         benefit from the Shield effect.


     Q: The top of Faith Calling says "Shield 1. Affect all allies within Range 2. If you affect one ally with this action, give the
         ally one "Prayer" ability card. Is this suppose to be "If you affect exactly one ally" or "If you affect at
 least one ally"?
     A: The intent is "exactly one ally" at the time of playing the card. Therefore, additional allies may still gain the
         benefits of the Shield aura at any later point in the round.

     Q: The bottom of Sacred Death allows you to recover one lost card and two discarded cards.  In addition, you may
         immediately play the bottom action of one discarded card recovered this way.  After doing so, is the discarded
         considered played again, and thus discarded, or do you get to play the bottom action and still place it back into
         your hand?
     A: If you play the action of the recovered card, it is not returned to your hand, but instead goes to the appropriate
         pile (discard or lost) after being played.

Level 5
     Q: Can the Leaf stock pile more than one token on Spiritual Gains in one rest cycle? The wording on the card is
          "Whenever you perform an action on an ability card that triggers the lost card icon", which implies you
 can, but the
          card also says "you may remove the token from this card" which is singular, suggesting you can
 only have one on it
          at a time.

     A: Yes.

     Q: Does Spiritual Gains count towards itself, or does it only count when additional lost cards are played?
     A: When additional lost cards are played.

Level 9
     Q: Are Oak's Gift cards removed from the Leaf's attack modifier deck by the bottom of Bringer of Miracles?
     A: No. Only normal Bless cards are removed.

     Q: For the bottom of Bringer of Miracles, after this card is in play, if I (or another character) play ability cards and/or
         items that place additional Bless cards into my attack modifier deck, I assume that those Bless cards remain in my
         attack modifier deck for the rest of the scenario, even though I will be immune to them?

     A: Yes.


*** Skull ***

General
     Q: Can you choose the order of activation for the Skull's spawns?  For example, attack first, then move, or choose to
         move first and then attack?

     A: Yes.

     Q: When a Spirit kills an enemy, does the Skull get the kill credit?
     A: Yes.

     Q: Does the Spirit move on the Skull's turn for purposes of abilities effects (e.g. Death Eater Spirit).
     A: Only if you play an ability on the Skull's turn that allows a Spirit to move during the Skull's turn. Otherwise, Spirits
         move on its own turn.


     Q: The character mat description of how and where you spawn a spirit is confusing (using both the terms "nearest"
         and "adjacent").  Can you please clarify this?
     A: If there is a space unoccupied that is adjacent to you (the Skull), then the Spirit is spawned there. If all spaces
         adjacent to you are otherwise occupied, you may then spawn the Spirit in the nearest unoccupied space.


     Q: The character mat specifies that "... Spirits are unaffected by enemy effects such as retaliate ...". What other effects
         are they not affected by?

     A: In addition to Retaliate, enemy effects that would cause the Spirit to either move or suffer damage.

     Q: The character mat specifies that "... Spirits are unaffected by enemy effects such as retaliate ...". Are Spirits affected
         by disadvantage? For example when attacking an Elite Black Imp?

     A: Yes.

     Q: Since Spirits are spawns, I assume they get to act the round that the Skull places them on the map, after the
     
    Skull's turn has been completed.  Correct?
     A: Yes.

Level 1 & X
     Q: The top of the card Incorporeal Transport states that when the Ghost Carriage moves, you force any figure
         occupying the same hex to move with this spirit during its Move ability.  Does the figure you are forcing to move with
         the spirit have to start in the same space as the spirit when the spirit begins moving?

     A: No.  The spirit may move first into a hex containing a figure that it then forces to move.

     Q: When the Ghost Carriage moves, activated with the top of Incorporeal Transport, can it move through multiple
         figures, and thus carry and move multiple figures?
     A: No. It can only carry 1 figure at a time.

     Q: Spirits can normally move through obstacles, so when the Ghost Carriage transports a figure that isn't flying can it
         move them through obstacles?

     A: No, a non-flying figure cannot be forced to move through obstacles.

     Q: For the top of Ethereal Canine, If the Phantom Hound spirit moves through the same enemy multiple times, can it
         attack that enemy multiple times?

     A: No.

     Q: For the top of Ethereal Canine, can the Phantom Hound attack the enemy if it ends its turn in the same hex as an
         enemy?  Does that count as moving through the hex?

     A: Yes.

     Q: For the bottom of Confidence Ritual, when is the persistent loss discarded? When you chose? When the Spirit dies?
         Does it stay up forever and you can keep choosing different Spirits?

     A: When the chosen spirit dies.

     Q: For the bottom of Fear the Reaper, can you curse enemies if they are in the same hex as a Spirit?

     A: Yes.

Level 4
     Q: For the top of Spirit Barrage, if I attack an enemy that has Retaliate, as if I was occupying the hex of a Spirit,
         should I suffer Retaliate damage?
     A: No, unless you are also physically adjacent to the target, or if the target has ranged Retaliate and you are within that
         range.


     Q: For the top of White Glow, do we need to consume Wind when playing this card to provide +1 Heal and +1 Range, or
         can it be done any time during the Skull's turn?

     A: Any time during the Skull's turn.

     Q: For the top of White Glow, when consuming Wind, does the +1 Heal, +1 Range last for the entire lifetime of the spirit,
         or do you have to consume Wind again on following rounds to get the benefit again?

     A: It lasts for the lifetime of the Spirit.


     Q: For the top of White Glow, if you forgo the attack, the Spirit can perform Heal 2 Range 1.  From the character mat:
         The Skull is considered an ally of Spirits, but Spirits are not an ally of the Skull, nor are they allies of other Spirits.
         This seems to mean that the heal can be applied to the Skull, but not to other Spirits.  What about other characters?
         Can this heal apply to them?

     A: Yes, it can apply to other characters.


Level 6
     Q: For the top of Fierce Loyalty, if you use the Mimicking Sprite to copy a Glowing Egg from Level 7 Rise From Ashes,
         what happens when this mimic dies? Does a Phoenix spawn from the mimicked Glowing Egg, and if so, does this
         Phoenix get +2 to its move and attack?

     A: No, since Rise From Ashes instructs you to spawn a Phoenix upon death. The Phoenix spawning upon death is not
 a
         trait of the Glowing Egg, but rather instructions from the Rise From Ashes card.


     Q: For the top of Fierce Loyalty, does the Mimicking Spite start with 1 Health Point, the current Health Points on the
         Spirit it mimics, or the maximum Health Points of the Spirit it mimics?

     A: Only 1 Health Point, regardless of the current or maximum Health Points of the Spirit it is mimicking.

Level 7
     Q: For the top of Rise from the Ashes, does the Spectral Phoenix activate on the turn it is spawned? In other words, on
         the third round after the Egg Sprite spawns and it receives its final damage and dies, or after the Skull's turn on the
         fourth round?

     A: It acts immediately on the death of the Egg Sprite; it does not wait a round in between.

Level 9
     Q: For the top of Death is Not Defeat, since the ally affected by this ability is considered a spirit for the purpose of my
         abilities, can I use Level 6 card Fierce Loyalty's top to mimic my ally? If so, what actions will the mimic
 perform on
         its turn?

     A: The ally is considered a spirit for the purpose of your abilities but does not have any listed abilities for Mimicking
         Sprite to copy.


     Q: For the top of Death is Not Defeat, does "less than two cards in their hand and discard pile" mean less than two in
         both piles combined or less than two in each? Does it trigger if the ally has 1 card in hand and 1 in discard?

     A: Combined.  Yes it will trigger in that case.


*** Sprig ***

General
     Q: Can the Sprig place difficult terrain on open doors and/or corridor tiles?
     A: Yes. For the purposes of the Sprig's difficult terrain placement abilities, open doors and corridor tiles are NOT
         considered overlay tiles.


Level 1 & X
     Q: The Sprig's card Volatile Tonic lets you "Add Wound 2 if the target has Poison and add Poison 2 if the target has
         Wound". Are you also able to add the Wound 2 / Poison 2 if the target has a higher instance of
 Poison / Wound? For
         example, if the target has Poison 3, does it get the Wound 2 by Volatile Tonic?

     A: Yes.

     Q: The Sprig's card Ground Solvent (top) allows you to create difficult terrain in any of the targeted hexes containing no
         overlay tiles.  Are you limited to just one, or can you create one in each space targeted 
(including the third space if
         the card is enhanced)?

     A: You may create difficult terrain in each space permitted (up to 2 if the card is not enhanced and up to 3 if it is
         enhanced).


     Q: For the bottom of Death Sentence, does the difficult terrain penalty apply to this movement? Does entering (and
         clearing) a difficult terrain hex take one or two of those 5 movement points?

     A: Yes, the penalty applies.

Level 2
     Q: The Sprig's card "Throwing Dagger" - does the top of the card turn the next three Melee attacks into Range attacks?
     A: Yes.

Level 4
     Q: The top of Radiant Forest Fungi tells you to place two difficult terrain tiles in hexes with no overlay tiles within
         range 1.  Can you choose to only place one difficult terrain tile instead, if you cannot or do not want to place two?
     A: Yes.


*** Target ***

General
     Q: Are the attacks from Target's Projectile mechanic considered ranged or melee? If the Target places a Projectile at
         range and then moves adjacent to it, is the attack at the start of the next turn considered ranged
 (with
         disadvantage) or melee (with no disadvantage). I always assumed it would be ranged (both because the
 ability
         specifies 'range' and because, thematically, interacting it with things like 'Piercing Bow' makes much
 more sense
         than melee items like 'Poison Dagger') but the question has been raised by others and the 'attack
 line' performed on
         the subsequent turn to the ranged projectile-placement, does lend itself to some ambiguity.

     A: The attacks are Ranged.

     Q: Can the Target's Projectiles target closed door hexes?
     A: No they cannot.

     Q: Do you have to be within range to perform a Projectile attack? Can the attack be done if you do not have line of
         sight? Example: I target a hex within range, then move away. Can I still perform the attack the next round?

     A: In order to initially place the Target's projectile token on a hex, you must both be within range and line of sight of
         the hex you are targeting.  At the start of the next turn, you only have to have line of sight to the hex
 which contains
         the Target's projectile token in order to make the attack.  While you do not have to be within
 any specific range, the
         attack is still considered a Range attack.


     Q: I understand that the Target removes its character token from a hex after performing (or failing to perform) a
         projectile ability. However, does the projectile ability get discarded too, or does it remain in play for continued use
         each round? I was a little confused by the persistent effect symbol on many of the Projectile cards.

     A: The ability card that provided the Projectile ability are moved to the discard or lost pile (as appropriate) once the
         attack is made or forfeited.


     Q: Can you place a projectile on a hex already containing an enemy figure, or do the enemy figures have to move onto a
         hex already containing a Projectile?

     A: You can place a projectile on an occupied hex.

     Q: How do multiple projectile actions interact with each other on the same turn. In other words, if I use the bottom of
         Chain Grapnel and the top of Ignited Launch I will end up placing as many as 4 projectile markers. Does each
         projectile get the effect of both, or do you track which projectile marker gets which effects?

     A: Track which token is linked to which effect.


Level 1 & X
     Q: For the bottom of Ignited Launch, does movement from your self pull abilities count as movement, or is it only
         referring to Move actions?

     A: Yes, it includes sell pull movement.

Level 3
     Q: For the top of Twin Blast, the card has target 2 for a projectile. The description of how to deal with "target X" for
         projectiles is to choose a hex for each target, so choose two hexes. Could you choose two hexes for the same
         obstacle/objective with HP (e.g. Scenario 46)? If you select two hexes containing the same obstacle with HP, would
         you make 2 attacks (one for each hex) or would you only make a single attack? Or can you only pick one projectile
         per enemy/obstacle?

     A: You can’t put two projectiles into the same hex. If an obstacle takes up multiple hexes, you perform one attack for
         each projectile placed.



*** Tools ***

General
     Q: Are the Tools summoned creatures intended to be discarded upon reaching the end of the timed track (e.g. the top
         of Jury-Rigged Machine)?

     A: Yes. Both the card and the summoned creature are discarded.

Level 1 & X
     Q: How does the top of Improvised Exosuit work? Do you get Shield 1 and +1 Attack for 4 turns?
     A: Yes. Like other persistent effects you gain the listed bonus(es) while the ability is in your active area. In the case of
         Imrovised Exosuit, you gain Shield 1 and +1 Attack to all your attacks while the card is in your active area.


     Q: For the top of "Repurpose Leftovers", can you consume items like "Eagle-Eye Goggles" (items with Tap symbol)? Or
         only items like "War Hammer" (items with X symbol)? Or Both?

     A: Both.  Note, however, in consuming an item such as the example of "Eagle-Eye Googles" that are normally tapped,
         you are still turning it over (consuming it).


     Q: For the top of "Repurpose Leftovers", when you consume an item, its done without also getting the items effect,
         correct?

     A: Correct.

Level 8
     Q: For the bottom of Double-Barrel Railcaster, if you consume an item to activate the ability, do you also get the
         value of the consumed item?

     A: No, you consume the item without getting its effect.


*** Tusks ***

General
     Q: Can you open doors on the turn of a mounted summons?
     A: Yes.

     Q: If the Tusks opens a door on the turn of her mounted summon, revealing enemies with quicker initiatives, who acts
         next in initiative order?

         a) The Tusks, as summons always act 'immediately before the summoner'?
         b) The newly revealed enemies, as their quicker initiative would 'slot in' between the mounted summon's turn and the
             Tusks'?

     A: B. The mounted summon's turn is separate from the Tusks'.

     Q: If unmounted, the summon acts under normal summon rules, correct?
     A: Correct.

     Q: When the Tusks is mounted and able to control the mount's abilities, can you also control ability order? Can I have
         the mount attack and then move before using the Tusks' ability cards?

     A: In general, no.  You control the actions, but they still retain the ability order of Move, then Attack. The only exception
         is if an ability card specifically states that you can do so (e.g. the bottom of Level 4 War Paint).


     Q: For Tusks, while mounted on a summons, after the summons performs their actions, does the Tusks' movement
         ability automatically move them off of the summons/mount? Or does that movement move both of them? For
         example, the Tusks is mounted on the Giant Tortoise. The Giant Tortoise performs their 1 movement and then
         
attacks. The Tusks then uses the bottom action on Pipe Tomahawk (Move 4). Does the summons/mount move a
         total of 7 spaces this round? Or in using the Move 4 ability, is the Tusks required to dismount the summons?
     A: If the Tusks plays an ability that allows the Tusks to move (but not the summons), then it does not command the
         summons to move, and subsequently dismounts the summons and moves on their own.

     Q: Do AoE attacks damage/affect both the mounted Tusks and their summon?
     A: Yes. This only applies to red AoE multi-target attacks/abilities.  Any single target attack/ability would apply to the
         summons first (as summons are focused first, unless this default order has been changed by some ability).


     Q: When enemies perform "Target all adjacent enemies" type attacks can they hit both the Tusk and her mounted
         summon?

     A: Yes.


     Q: Can the Tusks mount a summons if the summons moves into the Tusks' space?
     A: No. The Tusks can only mount a summons if the Tusks moves into the summons' space.

     Q: Do traps and hazardous terrain affect both the mount and Tusks when a mounted Tusks moves into them during the
         mount's turn?
     A: They only affect the Mount.



*** Vortex ***

General
     Q: Are Void pits considered difficult terrain? Obstacles? Or just an overlay tile that do not impede movement?
     A: They are obstacles. Note that every ability card that creates them utilizes the word "obstacle".

     Q: Are you allowed to skip abilities that say "Suffer X damage to gain Y void"? In other words, to neither take damage
         nor gain any void?

     A: No, you cannot skip them.

     Q. Are you limited to the number of Void Pit tokens (6) that come with the character, or can you place more using a
         substituted token?
     A. Yes, you are limited to 6 Void Pits.  In order to place another one after the first 6 are placed, you must pick one up
         that was previously placed on the map.

Level 4
     Q: For the bottom of Void-Enhanced Armory, are you permitted to consume more than one Void per attack to continue
         to add +1 Attack to all of your attacks for the round?

     A: No, it is restricted to once per turn.

Attack Modifiers

Bleeding Claw
     Q: What is the purpose of the 3 extra "attack modifier cards" (RM-063, RM-064, RM-065)?
     A: These are Perk Reminder Cards. If a perk provides the character with any other benefit unrelated to their attack
         modifier deck, they can keep the relevant Perk Reminder Card in their active area as a reminder.


Crescent Sun
     Q: For the Crescent Sun's attack modifier card 133, do we need to consume an element to perform the Glow ability
         when this modifier card is drawn?
     A: No.

Target
     Q: For the Target's attack modifier card 008, does the Target gain Retaliate 1 which is applied to any attacker within
         Range 3, or does it provide an ally within Range 3 of the Target's Retaliate 1?

     A: The Target gains Retaliate 1 Range 3 for the duration of the round.

Tusks
     Q: Does the Tusks' attack modifier card 063 turn the attack into a +2 if it is a Summons attacking, or does it simply
         modify it to a Rolling modifier, with the attack value remaining +1?

     A: It converts from a +1 to a +1 Rolling attack modifier if it is a Summons performing the attack.  It does not become+2.

     Q: For the Tusks attack modifier cards 055 and 056, what is the point/purpose of the Tusks symbol?
     A: These attack modifier cards heal the Tusks character, even if a summon draws the card during an attack.

Conditions

Infect
     Q: For the infect condition, if afflicted, do items such as Hide Armor still get used when damaged, if you are unable
         to gain shield? For Example: Imp 1 does 2 damage and afflicts Chained Helmet with Infect. After dealing 2 damage,
         one damage is nullified by the first charge of Hide Armor. Imp 2 does 2 damage, all damage affects
 Chained Helmet
         due to Infect. Does the second charge of Hide Armor get used to no effect, as would be the case
 if the attack had
         Pierce 1?

     A: Correct.

     Q: How does Infect interact with abilities which grant shield? If a character with Infect is in range of this Shield effect
         when it is played, then removes the Infect condition later in the round, are they able to gain the effect of
 that Shield,
         or because they were Infected when the ability was played, they aren't able to regain the effect of
 that Shield?
     A: Once Infect is removed, they can begin using Shield again. A character still has Shield while they have the Infect
         condition, it just has no effect.


Ward
     Q: According to the Crimson Scales' rulebook, the Ward condition works slightly differently in this expansion compared
         to that in Frosthaven. The Frosthaven rule says that Ward halves the next source of damage (rounded 
down) and is
         then removed. The Crimson Scales rule says the condition is removed the next time you suffer any
 damage. This
         means, to my understanding, if you suffer 1 damage (which gets halved and rounded down to 0)
 the condition is
         removed by the Frosthaven rule but not by the Crimson Scales rule. Is that intentional?

     A: The Frosthaven rule is the correct rule. This was an editing oversight in the Crimson Scales rulebook.

Events

General
     Any City or Road event that tells the characters to spawn an ally or enemy in the next scenario always occurs during
     scenario setup, prior to the start of the scenario.
  Any City or Road event that rewards the characters a totem to be
     placed within the next scenario can be placed
 at any time during the scenario.

     Q: We have come across some City and/or Road events that require you to have a Gloomhaven character class in your
         party in order to do either A or B.  Was this really intended?
     A: Yes.  Some event designers wanted either a mix of classes (Gloomhaven and Crimson Scales) to qualify/activate a
         result, or perhaps even just some classes from either Gloomhaven or Crimson Scales.

     Q: When should Add-On Event cards be added to the deck?
     A: Reference the Add-On Scenario Book for instructions on how to integrate the content into your campaign.

City Event 2
     Q: Both A and B have an "Otherwise" section that are the exact same and reference singing.  Are you supposed to lose
         1 reputation either way?

     A: Yes.  The loss of reputation is 1 for both cases. This is being errata'd so that one of the "Otherwise" sections involves
         playing an instrument.


City Event 10 & 13
     Q: These city events are identical in all respects.  Is this correct?
     A: No.  City Event 13 should be different.
         City Event 13 Front          City Event 13 Back

Road Event 15 Section B
     Q: The reward of outcome B is very odd, 6 experience each, despite the text describing bleeding cuts after falling
         head-first into a thorny bush. Is the reward correct?
     A: No.  This text was inadvertently copied from Road Event 14B.
         Road Event 15B

Items

General
     Q: When should Add-On Item cards be added to the deck?
     A: Reference the Add-On Scenario Book for instructions on how to integrate the content into your campaign.

Items 1-10 Orbs
     Q: For Orbs that allow multiple uses, can those multiple uses be utilized on one single action/event/etc.?  For example,
         Item 4 Orb of Vigor allows you to add +1 Attack to one attack.  Can I add +3 Attack to the attack if I
 spend all 3
         uses?

     A: No. Any orb that has multiple uses can only be used once per action/event/etc.

     Q: When characters are awarded a random Orb item, do they draw from a set of 10 items (1 item per orb) or from a set
         of 20 items (2 items per orb)?

     A: They draw from all available copies of all orbs (not just 1 copy of each orb). Note that orbs that are already owned by
         another character are not included within the random draw.  In addition, orbs that had previously
 been awarded and
         are available in the shop (not owned by a character) are also excluded from the draw.


Item 20 - Curious Pendant
     Q: Can this item be used to recover lost cards that are persistent and/or have charges similar to Gloomhaven's
         Spellweaver's Frost Armor?
     A: Yes.

     Q: Curious Pendant's wording would appear to allow Tinkerer-esque shenanigans as it simply says 'Recover one lost
         card played this round'. I assume that the intent is not to allow a player to pick up a loss card someone else
 had
         played earlier in initiative order?

     A: The Curious Pendant only allows the character that played the item to recover one of their lost cards played that
         round.

Milestone Ability Cards

In Trail of Ashes, Milestone Ability Cards became available.  These are rewards achieved by completing the Milestone goal
for each of the characters.  
These cards can be found here:

All Milestone Ability Cards with Spoiled Names
Beetle (Add-On)
Bleeding Claw (Add-On)
Chained Helmet
Crescent Sun

Flask
Galaxy
Gemstone (ToA)
Ice Meteor (ToA)

Ladder Axe
Leaf
Skull
Spiked-Ring (ToA)

Sprig
Storm Cloud (ToA)

Target
Three-Eyes (ToA)

Tools (Add-On)
Tusks
Vortex


General
     Q: For the purposes of card enhancements, are the Level M cards considered the same as Level 1 & X cards?
     A: Yes.

     Q: Within any specific campaign, do Level "M" cards remain within the available pool of cards for a character once
         unlocked, even after the character retires?  In other words, does only one person playing the character have to
         unlock the card by achieving the milestone goal, so that later, if another player plays the same character, the
         Level "M" card is already available?

     A: Yes.


Ladder Axe
     Q: For the bottom of Improvised Methods, how does adding range 3 work on melee AoE attacks, melee "Target all
         enemies within x hexes" attacks, and "Target all in same room" attacks, etc.?
     A: This only applies to single target melee attacks.

     Q: For the bottom of Improvised Methods, the card reads "you may place your ladder within two hexes".  I'm assuming
         this placement still needs to follow the usual rules where you may place your ladder?
     A: Correct.  Only the adjacency rule is overruled for the round.

Monsters

Blood Ooze
     Q: On Blood Ooze ability card 202, the first attack targets one adjacent enemy.  Is this attack still considered ranged,
         and thus disadvantaged?

     A: No.  Because it uses the target term "adjacent", it is not ranged, and thus not disadvantaged.

Flaming Drake
     Q: On Flaming Drake ability card 210, initiative 56: It is not entirely clear from the card if the element consumption
         modifies the attack above or if it triggers a second attack. I think the former, but it would be
 great to clarify this.
     A: Flaming Drake ability card 210 does not trigger a second attack; it modifies the original attack.

     Q: On Flaming Drake ability cards 206 and 207, are the 2 red attack target hexes meant to be in a straight line in front
         of the monster or in 2 hexes next to the monster?

     
A: Neither. This is a ranged AoE pattern attack.  Remember that a Flaming Drake is an alternate monster for
         Gloomhaven's Spitting Drake, and Spitting Drake's have ranged attacks by default.


Harrower Aegis
     Q: On Harrower Aegis ability card Maddening Chatter, how exactly does the Retaliate 3 Range 2 or 3 work.
     A: This card allows the Harrower Aegis to Retaliate 3 if the attacker is exactly at Range 2 or 3.  It does not work if the
         attacker is at Range 1 (adjacent).


Ravenous Gharial
     Q: For the card Patient Predator, what happens after it goes invisible? Not sure what the meaning is of "at above 50
         Initiative" it attacks, then "if invisible remove invisibility."
     A: First, it is recommended that you read the rules for Monster Triggered Abilities on page 28 of the Add-On Scenario
         Book. For the specific card Patient Predator, the Ravenous Gharial goes invisible at initiative 18, and then at
         initiative 50 it gets to act again, performing move and attack. The attack does have an additional effect in that if the
         Ravenous Gharial performs the attack, it loses the Invisible condition. Note that the symbol above the initiative is a
         Trigger symbol, and does not mean at or above 50.

Party Goals

     Q: Protector's Group: When 4 of 5 party goals were completed, we were awarded the ability for one player to enhance
         one of their character ability cards with a free +1 applied to any Level 1 or X Heal Self, Shield Self, or Retaliate Self.
 
        For our 2 characters, this amounted to no such available cards.  Was this intended?
     A: No. This is under review, but the purpose is to provide the free enhancement to some card.  As such, we have ruled
         that it can be applied to any single target Heal, Shield, or Retaliate card (even those that are not Self, include
         Range, etc.).

     Q: How do the Party Goals interact with the Death Variant?  For example, if you are awarded an item after you achieve
         your party goal, and the character to which the item was given dies, what happens to that item?  Is it lost forever?
     A: Should you have a character die while in possession of the party goal item, BEFORE you have utilized the item the
         specified number of times, the item will remain with the player whose character died. Once they go back to town
         and start a new character, the item will be given to that character. Since you are in town, you may freely
       
  redistribute that item as the team sees fit.  Should the death to the character occur AFTER the item has been
         utilized the specified number of times, the item will return to the available shop items deck, and will have to be
         repurchased as normal (if desired).

     Q: The rewards for Party Goals often specify an item by name and number; the number associated with the name is
         wrong.  Do we get the item the name specifies or the item for the number specified?

     A: These mistakes will be errata'd. In each case, you should get the item that is specified by its name. 

Perks

Party Sheet
     Q: Goals: All party members spend 60 gold at the Item Shop each.  Does the initial 30 gold that each character is
         provided at the start of the Campaign count when spent at the Item Shop? Or does this require gold earned after the
         start of play?

     A: The initial 30 gold, if spent at the Item Shop, qualifies towards this Party Sheet Goal. Note that only gold SPENT
         counts.  For example, if your reputation allows for a decreased cost for a Shop Item, then only the actual gold spent
         counts towards this goal.


     Q: Goals: All party members loot 1 Treasure Tile in a Scenario each? Does this allow you to achieve this goal by looting
         across multiple scenarios, or do all characters have to loot a Treasure Tile in a single scenario (such as
 those
         scenarios that have Goal treasures)?

     A: This can be achieved across multiple scenarios.

Personal Quests

General
     Q: If a personal quest (and/or an associated Scenario or Event card) states that the character "immediately retires", 
         we assume that the character cannot go back to town and cannot sell their items and upgrade cards PRIOR to

         retirement.  Correct?
     A: Yes.

     Q: For Personal Quest 331 "Weapon Specialist", the requirement is to consume 15 single-hand or double-handed items.
         Do spent items count towards that, or is it only comsumed items?

     A: Only consumed items.

     Q: For Personal Quest 335 "Bandit Banisher",  you have to kill a certain number of Guards or Archers. Does it matter

         what kind of Guards or Archers?
     A: No. Any enemy with "Guard" or "Archer" in their name qualifies.

     Q: For Personal Quest 336 "Creatures in the Night", you have to kill a certain number of Oozes, Forest Imps, or Black
         Imps.  Do other kinds of Oozes or Imps count such as Blood Oozes or Toxic Imps?
     A: Yes.

     Q: For Personal Quest 340 "Thy Be Blessed", are cards from the "Oak's Gift" decks considered to be Blesses (as well
         as the normal Gloomhaven Blesses) for the purposes of completing this PQ?
     A: Yes.

     Q: Personal quest 343 "The Dying of the Light" could be extremely difficult or nearly impossible to achieve with
         certain party makeups.  Has any thought been given to re-doing this PQ?
     A: Yes.  This PQ has been re-thought.  It is now called: Cruel Dominion. It is the player's choice which version of card
         343 they attempt to complete.

     Q: Personal quest 349 "No Rest For The Wicked" seems very limiting in terms of the kind of rests you can do; in fact
         there are scenarios which could be difficult to win based on the rests you perform.  Has any thought been given
         to changing this PQ?
     A: Yes.  This PQ has been re-thought.  No Rest For The Wicked now allows for a mix of short or long rests across 10
         scenarios. In other  words, as long you only do one type of rest in any given scenario, you succeed. It is the
 player's
         choice which version of card 349 they attempt to complete.

Prosperity

General
     Q: When Crimson Scales prosperity increases from 1 to 2 to 3, etc., are you suppose to unlock the next set of
         Gloomhaven items as you would when playing Gloomhaven?
     A: Yes.

Retirements

General
     Q: What happens in Crimson Scales if you retire a character, and are suppose to open a character box that another
         player has already opened?  In Gloomhaven, you are rewarded with a random side scenario and a random design
         item.  Does this happen in Crimson Scales?
     A: No. Currently, there are no such scenarios or random items.  When Trail of Ashes is released with the second
     
    printing, it will include random scenarios.  At that point, you could unlock one of those.

Sanctuary of the Great Oak (Oak's Gift)

General
     Q: When donating, does the player choose which cards from the Oak's Gift decks they obtain, or should they be
         randomly drawn?

     A. Draw 1 card from each of the two decks (2x, Rolling) randomly.

     Q: Are the cards drawn public knowledge, or should they be added to the attack modifier decks without knowing
         what was drawn?

     A: They are public knowledge.

     Q: Do the Oak's Gift cards count as Bless cards for the purposes of retirement goals?
     A: Yes.

Treasures

General
     The Treasure Index has been modified in the second printing to fix various errata.

     Q: Should Treasure 2 provide an Orb of Fortune (Item 09) like Treasure 09?
     A. No.  Treasure 2 should state "Gain: Hook Shot (Item 039)".

     Q: Should Treasure 41 be provided in both Scenario 43 and Scenario 51?
     A: No. Scenario 43 should be Treasure 41. Scenario 51 should be Treasure 50.
         Treasure 50: Gain "Bottled Moonlight" (Item 018)